Congratulations to ICMP alumni Barney Lister and Fraser T. Smith who have both been honoured at The Ivor Novello Awards.

Taking place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on 21st September, the event is one of the most prestigious in the music industry calendar and celebrates the musical achievements of songwriters and screen composers. 

ICMP alumnus Barney Lister won the award for Best Song Musically and Lyrically for the track, ‘God’s Own Children’, performed by collaborator Obongjayar. 

Fellow ICMP alumnus Fraser T. Smith won the award for Best Contemporary Song with his track ‘Children of the Internet’. This award is the third win for the pair in four years.

Shaznay Lewis, Ivor Novello Award winner and Chair of The Ivors Awards Committee at The Ivors Academy, said:

I’m amazed by the impressive range of talent who have joined the UK’s roll call of songwriting greats by winning an Ivor Novello Award. Each one brings joy to so many and creates the soundtrack to our lives."

"As well as being astounded by their achievements, I would like to thank every winner and nominee for creating the most wonderful and era-defining music."

ICMP's recent guest Lianne La Havas was also named a winner as recipient of the Best Album award. 

Listen to 'God's Own Children' below: 

All but two of the categories (PRS for Music most performed work and songwriter of the year) was judged by individual panels of songwriters and composers.

The winners in full are: 

Best Album

'Lianne La Havas' 

Written by Matthew Hales and Lianne La Havas

Performed by Lianne La Havas

Published in the UK by Universal Music Publishing and Warner Chappell Music

Best Contemporary Song

'Children of the Internet' 

Written by Dave and Fraser T Smith

Performed by Future Utopia feat. Dave and Es Devlin

Published in the UK by Warner Chappell Music and Kobalt Music Publishing

Best Original Film Score

'Calm with Horses' 

Composed by Blanck Mass

Published in the UK by BMG UK

Best Original Video Game Score

'Ori and the Will of the Wisps'

Composed by Gareth Coker

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

'God’s Own Children' 

Written by Barney Lister and Obongjayar

Performed by Obongjayar

Published in the UK by Promised Land Music-Universal Music Publishing and Beggars Music

Best Television Soundtrack


Composed by Geoff Barrow, Ben Salisbury, The Insects

Published in the UK by Sony Music Publishing

Outstanding Song Collection

Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

'Adore You'

Written by Amy Allen, Tyler Johnson, Kid Harpoon and Harry Styles

Performed by Harry Styles

Published in the UK by Artist Publishing Group West-Kobalt Music Publishing, Concord Music Publishing, Universal Music Publishing

Rising Star Award with Apple Music

Willow Kayne

Songwriter of the Year

Celeste and Jamie Hartman

Special International Award with Apple Music

Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora

The Ivors Classical Music Award

Mark-Anthony Turnage

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory

Visit for more information.

Main Image of Fraser T Smith by: Jordan McLachlan • Creative Commons Attribution 3.0

Take the first steps in your music career with ICMP

We've been developing and delivering contemporary music education for over 30 years – longer than any other music school in the UK. With a proven track-record, countless music industry connections and unrivalled access to facilities, it's easy to see why hundreds of students choose ICMP each year. 

To completely immerse yourself in your music career, chat with our friendly Admissions Team via email or give them a call on 020 7328 0222.

Find your course