At the heart of the Academic Governance Framework sits the Academic Board. This Board is overall accountable for the development, management, oversight, monitoring and quality of all education programmes across ICMP.

The Academic Board is the supreme academic authority of ICMP and ultimate guardian of the academic integrity and quality of all ICMP education courses. It approves both the annual Self Evaluation Document (SED) and the Quality Improvement Plan (QIP).


Each committee has its own clearly stated Terms of Reference (ToR) and regularly reviews a range of ‘Academic Quality Indicators’ (AQIs) which enables the monitoring of academic activities via the use of data and information.

This committee structure and the composition and terms of reference of each committee are periodically reviewed (at least annually) and any changes passed to the Corporate Board for approval.  

ICMP Academic Board

Dr Tony Harris

Dr Tony Harris Dean of Academic Studies
Tony is chair of the Academic Board. He is a Director of ICMP and Dean of Academic Studies with overall strategic and operational responsibility for the academic portfolio and faculty. He also chairs the Research and Ethics Committee and is a member of the Executive Committee. Prior to joining ICMP, Tony held senior posts at Nottingham Trent University and lectured at Birmingham Conservatoire.


Hema Tank

Hema Tank External Advisor 
Hema is an external advisor to the Academic Board. She is Associate Dean at the London Institute of Banking & Finance where she has responsibility for strategy, financial oversight, revenue growth, academic programmes, student experience and is chair of the Learning and Teaching Committee. Hema has held previous posts at UCL, City University, Brunel University and Middlesex University. As a senior post holder at an alternative HE provider, and with extensive experience across a range of institutions, Hema brings to the Board a critical perspective on our strategic development.


Dr Gill Scott

Dr Gill Scott  External Advisor 
Gill is an external advisor to the Academic Board. She spent 12 years as Dean of the School of Education at Nottingham Trent University, and was chair of the Universities Council for the Education of Teachers from 2014-17. As former Dean of a complex multi-disciplinary faculty Gill brings to the Board experience of strategic and financial planning, development of research cultures and REF preparation, CPD and excellence in teaching and learning, organisational change management, and quality improvement, especially in relation to NSS, DHLE and other KPIs.


Angela Morley

Angela Morley  Head of Student Services 
Angela is Head of Services at ICMP and has overall responsibility for Disability & Wellbeing. Angela chairs the Reward and Remuneration Committee, Refund Committee and Admissions Panel. She is also a member of the Executive Committee. Angela is the institutional lead for Safeguarding and Prevent.


Ken Foreman

Ken Foreman  Associate Dean for Learning and Teaching 
Ken is an Associate Dean at ICMP and chairs the Learning, Teaching and Assessment Committee. He is also Programme Leader for the BA(Hons) Music Business Programme. Ken has over 35 years’ experience in the music business as an artist, producer, composer, consultant and artist manager.


Sophie Daniels

Sophie Daniels  Senior Academic Manager 
Sophie is a Senior Academic Manager at ICMP and Programme Leader for the MA Songwriting Programme. She is a member of the Learning, Teaching and Assessment Committee. Sophie’s career in music has also comprised performing, writing and recording, along with roles at major record labels where she has worked with and for a variety of high profile projects and artists.


Jonathan Whiskerd

Jonathan Whiskerd  Programme Leader 
Jonathan Whiskerd is Programme Leader for ICMP’s BA(Hons) Songwriting programme. He is an award-winning songwriter who works on a range of artist projects. Jonathan has been integral to the design, management and development of songwriting courses for the past 8 years. He is also the External Examiner for the BA (Hons) Songwriting programme at Leeds College of Music.


Rich Patterson

Rich Patterson  Programme Leader 
Rich is Programme Leader for ICMP’s BMus(Hons) Popular Music Performance programme. He is an experienced musician with international touring and recording experience. As an educator, he has been a regular contributor to Rhythm and iDrum magazines and was recently engaged as a consultant and unit writer for a new Pearson Higher National Music curriculum.


Oliver Tatler

Oliver Tatler  Careers and Employability Manager
Oliver is our Careers & Employability Manager and manages The Hub, ICMP's careers and industry liaison department. He has previously worked across a range of higher education institutions providing careers guidance and support to students and alumni.


Ildiko Olah

Debbie Herraghty Deputy Registrar: Student Administration & Assessments
Debbie is a member of Registry team overseeing the Academic Support and Library functions of ICMP. She is Servicing Officer to Academic Board. Debbie has 17 years of administrative experience in HEIs specialising in registry and planning services.


Nicholas Gaunlett

Nicolas Gauntlett  Student President 
Nicolas has been with ICMP since 2013, joining us as a 16 years old guitarist. He has completed the Diploma and Higher Diploma courses and is now in his final year of the BMus. In 2018 he was elected to the role of Student President.